Grandfather, Great Spirit,…

The Great Spirit is in all things, is in the air we breathe.
The Great Spirit is our Father, but the Earth is our Mother.
She nourishes us; that which we put into the ground, She returns to us….
~ Big Thunder (Bedagi), 19th century Wabanaki Algonquin

Traditional Native American worship practices vary from region to region and tribe to tribe. They are typically a part of tribal gatherings including dance, rhythm, songs and trance. Sacred narratives and beliefs are deeply based in Nature and are rich with the symbolism of seasons, weather, plants, animals, earth, water, sky and fire. The principle of an all embracing, universal and omniscient Great Spirit, a connection to the Earth, diverse creation narratives and collective memories of ancient ancestors are common among tribes. When Native Americans pray to the four directions it is a prayer to the spirits of the world, to life and the Great Spirit that encompasses the four directions and everything that is.

Grandfather, Great Spirit, once more behold me on earth and lean to hear my
feeble voice. You lived first, and you are older than all need, older than
all prayer. All things belong to you — the two-legged, the four-legged, the
wings of the air, and all green things that live.

You have set the powers of the four quarters of the earth to cross each
other. You have made me cross the good road and road of difficulties, and
where they cross, the place is holy. Day in, day out, forevermore, you are
the life of things.

(Black Elk, Holy Man of the Oglala Sioux)

It is lovely indeed, it is lovely indeed.
I, I am the spirit within the earth …
The feet of the earth are my feet …
The legs of the earth are my legs …
The bodily strength of the earth is my strength …
The thoughts of the earth are my thoughts …
The voice of the earth is my voice …
The feather of the earth is my feather …
All that belongs to the earth belongs to me …
All that surrounds the earth surrounds me …
I, I am the sacred words of the earth …
It is lovely indeed, it is lovely indeed.

(Navajo Song)

This Week’s Affirmation:

“We are all related.”

(For more on Affirmations, go to my Affirmations Page.)

Enhanced by Zemanta

Leave a Reply

