God of comfort, …

The Hopi & Zuni Festival of Shalako and the Jewish holiday of Hanukkah continue today.

Advent is concerned with that very connection between memory and hope which is so necessary to man. Advent’s intention is to awaken the most profound and basic emotional memory within us, namely, the memory of the God who became a child.… It is the beautiful task of Advent to awaken in all of us memories of goodness and thus to open doors of hope.
~ Joseph Cardinal Ratzinger, Seek That Which Is Above

God of comfort, these times seem so uncertain, so scary. The world seems darker than it has in the past and I am less sure of myself. Maybe that’s a good thing; maybe now I am turning to you with a realization that I need you so much more and that my life is not in my own control. Let me not forget all of those around the world who are frightened at this moment. Help those who are victims of terrorism and war. Be with those who have lost so much in the past year. Hold us all in your loving arms and let us be comforted by the strength and peace you want to much to offer us through the birth of your son, Jesus. Thank you for the many gifts you offer us.

(Creighton University’s Online Ministries)

This Week’s Affirmation:

“I am master of my being and can fully relax at will,
my mind dwells on harmonious and peaceful thoughts.”

(For more on Affirmations, go to my Affirmations Page.)

Leave a comment