Prayer for Friday (Shichigosan)

Today is the Shinto holiday of Shichigosan, a festival to give thanks for children.

Faith is walking face-first and full-speed into the dark. If we truly knew all the answers in advance as to the meaning of life and the nature of God and the destiny of our souls, our belief would not be a leap of faith and it would not be a courageous act of humanity;….
~ Elizabeth Gilbert

I bow to Him who has conquered fear,
conquered all afflictions, conquered sensual vexation,
conquered passion, emotions, attachment, aversion and delusion,
and has conquered pleasure and pain.
May my misery end and the Karmic forces be annihilated.
May I attain enlightenment and meet a peaceful death.
May thy feet, O’ Noble Jina, the friend of all living beings,
be my happy refuge!

(shortened form of Namakar Mantra)

This Week’s Affirmation:

“The light of God is guiding me in everything I do.”

(For more on Affirmations, go to my Affirmations Page.)

Leave a Reply

