Prayer for Wednesday (Birth of Guru Nanak)

Today is the Sikh celebration of the Birth of Guru Nanak Dev Sahib, the first Sikh Guru, and the Bahá’í holiday of the Ascension of `Abdu’l-Bahá. Today also begins the Nativity Fast for Orthodox Christians.

Faith is the bird that sings
when the dawn is still dark.
Rabindranath Tagore

O my Lord, when will my eyes be decorated
with tears of love flowing constantly
when I chant Your holy name?

When will my voice choke up, and
when will the hairs of my body stand on end
at the recitation of Your name?

(Sikshastaka, 6th verse)

This Week’s Affirmation:

“My faith lifts me above my fears.”

(For more on Affirmations, go to my Affirmations Page.)

One thought on “Prayer for Wednesday (Birth of Guru Nanak)

  1. Pingback: Northeast Celebrates Guru Nanak’s Birthday | Aglaia Interactive's Lifestyle Portal

Leave a Reply

