Prayer for Sunday

The nine day Hindu holiday of Navratri continues today.

Prayer is the key of the morning
and the bolt of the evening.
~ Mahatma Mohandas Gandhi

Lord, help me to live in Your joy and peace. Give me strength and understanding to resist anxiety, anger, envy, depression, bitterness, hopelessness, loneliness, fear and guilt. Rescue me when “my spirit is overwhelmed within me; my heart within me is distressed.”1 I refuse to let my life be brought down by negative emotions such as these.

When I am tempted to give in to them, show me Your Truth. You have said in Your Word that by our patience we can possess our souls.2 Give me patience so I can do that. Help me to keep my “heart with all diligence,” for I know that “out of it spring the issues of life.”3

(Author Unknown)

1 Psalm 143:4
2 Luke 21:19
3 Proverbs 4:23

This Week’s Affirmation:

“My inner peace remains unaffected by outside circumstances.”

(For more on Affirmations, go to my Affirmations Page.)

Leave a Reply

