Prayer for Wednesday (Purim)

The Jewish holiday of the Purim begins at sundown.

I love the L-rd,
who listened to my voice in supplication,
who turned an ear to me on the day I called.

I was caught by the cords of death;
the snares of Sheol had seized me; I felt agony and dread.
Then I called on the name of the L-rd,
“O L-rd, save my life!”

Gracious is the L-rd and just;
yes, our G-d is merciful.
The L-rd protects the simple;
I was helpless, but G-d saved me.
Return, my soul, to your rest;
the L-rd has been good to you.

For my soul has been freed from death,
my eyes from tears,
my feet from stumbling.
I shall walk before the Lord
in the land of the living.
I kept faith, even when I said,
“I am greatly afflicted!”
I said in my alarm,
“No one can be trusted!”

How can I repay the L-rd
for all the good done for me?
I will raise the cup of salvation
and call on the name of the L-rd.
I will pay my vows to the L-rd
in the presence of all his people.

Too costly in the eyes of the L-rd
is the death of his faithful.

L-rd, I am your servant,
your servant, the child of your maidservant;
you have loosed my bonds.
I will offer a sacrifice of thanksgiving
and call on the name of the L-rd.

I will pay my vows to the L-rd
in the presence of all his people,
in the courts of the house of the L-rd,
in your midst, O Jerusalem.

Praise the L-rd!

(Psalm 116)

This Week’s Affirmation:

“Forgiving makes me feel light and free.”

(For more on Affirmations, go to my Affirmations Page.)

Leave a Reply

