Prayer for Monday (Clean Monday)

Today is Clean Monday which is the first day of Great Lent for Orthodox Christians.

How shall I begin to weep for my failures?
Where can I make a start for salvation?
I have lived as a Prodigal.
Save me by the ways that are Your, Bountiful One.

This is the time of repentance.
This is the day of salvation.
This is the beginning of the fast.
Be vigilant, my soul!
Close the door of your passions, and seek the Lord.

The tempest of my sins has drawn me to the depths of despair.
But I flee to the sea of Your mercy:
O Lord, save me!

I have become a slave to sin.
I alone have opened the doors to passion, O Word,
but convert me by Your compassion, Savior!

(from Monday Matins service for the first week of Great Lent in the Triodion)

This Week’s Affirmation:

“The Spirit of my Creator makes me wonderful.”

(For more on Affirmations, go to my Affirmations Page.)

One thought on “Prayer for Monday (Clean Monday)

  1. Pingback: Monday AGAIN !!! « cloudy with a chance of crochet

Leave a Reply

