Prayer for Tuesday (Shrove Tuesday)

Today is Shrove Tuesday (also known as Mardi Gras) in western Christian traditions. Today is also Shakyamuni Buddha Day in Tibetan Buddhism.

Look at me with mercy, O God,
as I meditate to know and love you more and more.
I call on you for your guidance.

Where I have not fulfilled your Commandments,
I humbly kneel down in prayer for forgiveness.
Keep encouraging me, O God,
in all I do to please you.

In your mercy, O God,
where all is peace, I’ll be led
not to regret but to rejoice
as in your company I get all my comfort.

(Fred R Musimenta, Uganda; from Prayers Encircling the World by Robin Keeley, SPCK Publishing, London)

This Week’s Affirmation:

“I easily forgive and I quickly move on.”

(For more on Affirmations, go to my Affirmations Page.)

2 thoughts on “Prayer for Tuesday (Shrove Tuesday)

  1. Pingback: Shrove Tuesday | Fish, Chips & Mushy Peas

  2. Pingback: Shrove Tuesday | Life From Where I Stand

Leave a Reply

