Prayer for Saturday (Waqf-al-Arafa)

Waqf al Arafa is the Islamic observance day during Hajj in which pilgrims pray for forgiveness (istighfar) and mercy. Pilgrims stay awake at night to pray on the hill of Arafat, the site where Muhammad traditionally delivered his last sermon.

Sayyidul Istighfar
O Allah, You are my Lord. There is no god besides You. You created me and I am Your servant, following your covenant and my promise to you as much as I can. I seek refuge in You from the evil that I have done. Before You I acknowledge Your blessings bestowed upon me and I confess my sins to You. So forgive me, for surely no one can forgive sins except You.

(reported by Shaddad ibn Aws to have been spoken by the Prophet Muhammad)

O Allah, I seek your forgiveness for every sin for which I spent the night in sleeplessness, savouring the pleasure of soon committing it and waiting in eager anticipation of its realization and fulfillment – until when morning came, I presented myself before You in the guise of the pious, while concealing in my heart what was against Your Pleasure. Forgive me, O Lord of the Worlds.

O Allah, I seek Your forgiveness for every sin that I knew myself to have committed, then forgot about or remembered, or that I had committed intentionally or unintentionally; and I have no doubt that it is a sin about which You will question me and for which my soul is held captive to You, even if I have become forgetful and heedless of it.

(Hasan Basri, Prayers for Forgiveness)

Today’s Affirmation:

“I forgive and I am forgiven.”

(For more on Affirmations, go to my Affirmations Page.)

Leave a Reply

