Prayer for Friday (Hajj)

The Hajj is the pilgrimage to Makkah (Mecca) in Saudi Arabia. It is a religious duty of Islam that must be carried out at least once in a lifetime by every able-bodied Muslim who can afford to do so.

Niyyah for Hajj
(This prayer expresses the intention to do Hajj.)

O Allah! I intend to perform Hajj; make it easy for me and accept it from me. I make the niyyah for Hajj and enter into the state of Ihram1 for the sake of Allah alone, the most High.

Talbiyah
(Through this prayer, pilgrims assert their intention to perform the pilgrimage only for the glory of Allah.)

Here I am at Thy service O Lord, here I am. Here I am at Thy service, and Thou hast no partner. Thine alone is All Praise and All Bounty, and Thine alone is The Sovereignty. Thou hast no partner.

Niyyah for Tawaf
(This prayer expresses the intention to do Tawaf, the circumnavigation of the Holy Ka’aba.)

O Allah! I intend to perform Tawaf of Thy Sacred House. Make it easy for me and accept from me the seven ashwat2 for Thy sake, Allah, the Most High.

Prayer At Maqam-o-Ibrahim
Maqam-o-Ibrahim is the step-stone used by Prophet Ibrahim (Abraham) during the original construction of the Ka’bah. The stone carries the imprints of his feet, and is housed in a glass enclosure on the north side of the Ka’bah. The Ka’bah is a cuboid-shaped building in Mecca and is the most sacred site in Islam. The building has a mosque built around it, the Masjid al-Haram. All Muslims around the world face the Kaaba during prayers, no matter where they are.

O Allah! Thou knowest that which I keep secret and that which I disclose. Grant me Thy pardon. Thou knowest my needs; grant me my wishes. Thou knowest that which is in my breast; forgive me my sins.
O Allah! I seek from Thee a faith that will saturate my heart, and a true conviction that will make me realize that naught can befall me except what Thou hast decreed for me, and that I may find contentment in whatever Thou hast given me. Thou art my patron in this world and the Hereafter. Allow me to die in a state of Islam and to be counted among the righteous.
O Allah! on this occasion of our presence in this place, let not any of our sins go unforgiven, nor any of our worries undispelled, nor any of our needs unfulfilled or unfacilitated by Thee. And let all our tasks be made easy, and our minds relieved, and our hearts illuminated and our actions judged as pious.
O Allah! allow us to die as Muslims and to join the ranks of the virtuous without any distress. Amen, O Lord of the Universe.

1 Ihram is the traditional dress worn during Hajj.
2 ashwat is plural for shawt, which is one circuit of the Tawaf.

(Source: Ministry of Hajj, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia)

Today’s Affirmation:

“All my thoughts, words and actions are divinely guided.”

(For more on Affirmations, go to my Affirmations Page.)

One thought on “Prayer for Friday (Hajj)

Leave a Reply

