Prayer for Sunday

Glorious God, give me grace to amend my life,
and to have an eye to my end without begrudging death,
which to those who die in you, good Lord,
is the gate of a wealthy life.

And give me, good Lord, a humble, lowly, quiet, peaceable,
patient, charitable, kind, tender and pitiful mind,
in all my works and all my words and all my thoughts,
to have a taste of your holy, blessed Spirit.

Give me, good Lord, a full faith, a firm hope, and a fervent charity,
a love of you incomparably above the love of myself.

Give me, good Lord, a longing to be with you,
not to avoid the calamities of this world,
nor so much to attain the joys of heaven,
as simply for love of you.

And give me, good Lord, your love and favor,
which my love of you, however great it might be,
could not deserve were it not for your great goodness.

These things, good Lord, that I pray for,
give me your grace to labor for.

(Thomas More, 1478-1535)

Today’s Affirmation:

“Each breath that I inhale fills my body with strength and power.”

(For more on Affirmations, go to my Affirmations Page.)

Leave a Reply

