Prayer for Saturday

Be gracious with me in your loving-kindness.
In your tenderness blot out my confusion.
Wash me, let my impurity run off.
Cleanse me, squeeze the poison out.
For of my twistedness I’m painfully aware.
My weakness is before my eyes all day long.

Freshen me with hyssop.
Wash my heart and my body will be whiter than snow.
Let me hear with inward ear
the gladness and the joy of my sensual life.
So that the bones you’ve crushed in bringing me to be
can click and sing, repaired..
Let the light of your eye in mine
clarify my tangles and snarls..
So they do not pull nor strangle.
And my heart becomes clear. And my spirit new.

Don’t push me away. Don’t remove your natural love.
Remind me of the joy I find in immersion in you.
Support me – free me –
And I will remember you to all who’ve fallen away..
And they’ll rise up, face to face with you again.
Deliver me from division within myself.
That I can find my tongue to sing your allness –
Open my lips and my mouth will praise you.
For this is what you desire, not sacrifice.

If you wanted burnt offerings I’d give them.
But the sacrifice you desire is a broken heart.
A humbled heart, quiet and receptive You will always receive.

(excerpts of Psalm 51 from Norman Fischer’s Opening to You: Zen-Inspired Translations of the Psalms)

Today’s Affirmation:

“I always feel peaceful and serene.”

(For more on Affirmations, go to my Affirmations Page.)

Leave a Reply

